The Geometric Series #1 – Johnny Depp

Johnny Depp

Graphite on Paper | A4 | Completed on 9 May 2013

I wanted to give my friend the best birthday gift that she can possibly get – Johnny Depp. I mean the person himself.

But who am I kidding? He’s just too far away for me to kidnap. I mean, can you imagine the logistical nightmare of smuggling him back to Singapore?

So I decided that, well, a sketch would do (for now).

I personally don’t find Johnny Depp that appealing – I mean, I like his movies and would be willing to watch any movie with him in it, but I’m just not crazy over him like many people are. Yes, my friend, if you’re reading this, I’m referring to you.

Anyway, a few months ago while my school paper was driving me mad, I came up with a sketch style that I thought was quite interesting (thank you, my dearest prof). Instead of using normal lines and shades to sketch the person’s portrait, I’d first break it up into small triangles. Then I’ll (slowly and painstakingly) fill the triangles up with different shades of black using different shades of pencils, and viola, the portrait is done! I think that this not only gives the portrait a unique abstract touch, but also gives it a nice pseudo-3D polygon feel. And because the artwork is made up of small triangles, it hardly looks like the actual person I’m sketching right at the beginning. So it’s really quite exciting for me too, as I gradually fill up the triangles and watch the person’s face materialise.

But this sketch style comes at a price, too. Because the portrait is a little abstract, the person that I’m sketching (or the photo that I’m basing the sketch on) has to be really recognisable. And I don’t necessarily mean that the person must be very famous; his/her must have something that is recognisable at an instance. Like Johnny Depp and his long hair + moustache + spectacles, or Lady Gaga in her ‘Born this Way’ album cover. There are some artists that I would really like to sketch, but am having (or had) trouble finding a good photo that captures the essence of his/her face. Take for instance Stefanie Sun (孙燕姿). She’s by far my favourite singer and artist, but it took me really really long to find a photo that’s recognisable in this sketch style (I found it at last, hehe). Anyway, more on Stefanie Sun in a later post.

I’ve designed a desktop wallpaper with my Johnny Depp sketch (I think it looks quite neat in a black frame), with one of his quirky quotes: “I think we are all somewhat screwy. Every single one of us.”

Quite true, isn’t it?

Johnny Depp Desktop Wallpaper

Desktop wallpapers: 1280 by 720, 1280 by 800, 1440 by 900, 1920 by 1080, 1920 by 1200, 2880 by 1800.

.

Are there any artists/famous people that you think I should sketch? Leave it in the comments!

One thought on “The Geometric Series #1 – Johnny Depp

  1. Pingback: The Geometric Series – A Roundup | don't burst the bubble

Leave a Reply

