Sketchy Sketches #13 – The Girl with the Blue Eyes

December 2013

Girl with the Blue Eyes

“Wow,” the man said, “you’ve got really beautiful eyes.”

“Thanks,” the Girl with the Blue Eyes said. She tried to smile, but all she managed was an awkward twitch of her lips.

“Did I freak you out?” the man asked. “I’m sorry.”

“No, it’s not that,” the Girl with the Blue Eyes said. After all these years, she’s used to the attention and compliments from peers and strangers alike.

“If only he would notice me like you did,” she sighed.

“Who?”

“There,” the Girl with the Blue Eyes said, as she pointed at a boy across the street, “that guy over there. The Boy with the Brown Eyes.”

***

It’s finally the holidays! This December, I busied myself with sketching, painting, writing, and of course, playing video games =).

I wanted to sketch something fun this time, and after a few rough sketches I ended up with a semi-realistic and semi-cartoonish sketch of a woman’s face. But I got too excited sketching the artwork that I didn’t realise that her eyes are lopsided until even the colouring was done. =(

Here’s an early sketch of the artwork:

Dec

More to come next time! =)

Leave a Reply

