Sketchy Sketches #14

31 December 2013 – 11 January 2014

31 December 2013 & 9 January 2014

Full Bloom

Full Bloom (HB, F, 2B, 3B & 5B pencils)(Note: this sketch is very, very heavily digitally enhanced, because, well, the original sketch sucked too much.) I tried to sketch a symbolic “full bloom” on the last day of 2013, but I somehow screwed it up by outlining the petals too harshly. I think I was a little too stressed out at getting the sketch done by 11.59pm, so I became too hasty and made a bad choice of outlining the petals. The resulting flower looked awkwardly stuck in between a cartoonish and realistic sketch… and my focus wore out by the time I realised that, so I decided to leave it as it is.

And then 2014 came. 

On 9 Jan, I attempted to ‘fix’ the sketch by increasing the amount of shadow throughout the entire sketch. I think it looks better now, but it might’ve looked even better if I didn’t outline the petals in the first place. Oh well.

I’ve took snapshots of the sketch throughout the various stages of completion, and I didn’t want to waste them so I made a short time-lapse GIF:

Full Bloom GIF

7 January 2014

7 Jan

And Off You Drift (HB, F, 2B, 3B & 5B pencils) – This sketch is based on Nikolay Tikhomirov’s awesome photograph in his Zero Gravity project. I’ll be using this sketch for a short story that I’m currently writing!

11 January 2014

The Tree

The Tree (HB, 2B & 5B pencils) – I’m sketching this for another project that I’m working on! On another note, I think I’m addicted to making time-lapse GIFs:

The Tree

More to come next time! =)

One thought on “Sketchy Sketches #14

  1. Pingback: The Train Moves On | don't burst the bubble

Leave a Reply

